Advanced search

Abu Dhabi > General Information on Luxembourg > Famous Luxembourgers >

Famous Luxembourgers

  • Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of Luxembourg  (1995-2013), first permanent president of the Eurogroup (2005-2013), has been elected President of the European Commission and will take up his mandate in November 2014. He is very popular abroad, in particular in Germany and throughout the new member states of the EU. He has won several awards for his commitment to European integration, including the Charlemagne Prize in 2006.
  • Jules Hoffmann was born in Echternach in 1941. He is a researcher specialising in the endocrinology and immunology of insects and is a professor at the University of Strasbourg. Together with Bruce Beutler and Ralph M. Steinman, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2011. Emeritus senior researcher at CNRS in Strasbourg, he is a member of the Académie des sciences (Academy of Sciences) in France and an internationally acknowleged scientist.
  • Léa Linster is a highly acclaimed chef. She is the first and only woman to have won the Bocuse d’or, the most prestigious competition for chefs, and has held a Michelin star for the last 25 years. She makes regular German TV appearances and has published numerous articles and cookery books.
  • Guy Helminger is a German-language author. He lives in Cologne, where he writes poetry, theatre and radio plays as well as novels. He was presented with the 2002 Prix Servais, a Luxembourg literary award, and was the recipient of the 3sat prize for his story Pelargonienat at the Ingeborg Bachmann competition (Ingeborg-Bachmann-Wettbewerb) in 2004. He has published Etwas fehlt immer (2005) with Suhrkamp and Neubrasilien (2010) with Eichborn. He also presents a cultural programme on RTL Luxembourg.
  • Désirée Nosbusch is an actress and presenter. Born in Esch-sur-Alzette, she launched her career with Radio Luxembourg at the age of 12. She has presented countless events and regularly stars in films screened on TV. She is also a producer and director.
  • Andy Schleck is a champion cyclist, an excellent climber and winner of the Tour de France. Born in Luxembourg in 1985 into a professional cyclist family, Andy Schleck went professional in 2005. His brother Frank Schleck, born in 1980, is also a professional cyclist. Andy Schleck particularly excels in stage races. His greatest successes to date are:
    • Tour de France: 2008 – best young rider; 2009 – second overall and best young rider; 2010: winner and best young rider;
    • 2nd in Tour of Italy in 2007;
    • Winner of Liège-Bastogne-Liège in 2009…