Advanced search

Abu Dhabi > General Information on Luxembourg > Education >


The Luxembourg constitution confers the State the right to organize and regulate education. As a result, most schools are public and non-fee-paying. There are some private schools that teach the same subjects, but they are fee paying. Each child over six years of age on 1 September of the current year must attend school for nine years, i.e. until the age of 15.


The linguistic situation in Luxembourg is characterized by the practice and recognition of three official languages –Luxembourgish, French and German. German is taught from the very first school year, while French is taught the following years. Moreover, German is the main language for primary education, as well as for the first few
years of secondary classical and secondary technical education. French, however, is used predominantly in secondary classical education. The number of hours devoted to language teaching accounts for 50% of the total of subjects taught during the entire schooling. During these years, Luxembourgish remains the main teaching language.

The School System

Early education is aimed at children from the age of three. It helps children to socialize and immigrant children to integrate properly. Early education is not compulsory.

Preschool education is compulsory for children over four years of age.

Primary education takes six years and is intended for children having reached the age of six by 1 September of the current year.

Post-primary education takes six or seven years depending on the orientation chosen and is split into two sections - secondary education, which concentrates on classical subjects and prepares students for university, and technical secondary education, which offers practical and vocational training.

Historically, one of the special features of the Luxembourg education system has been the absence of a complete university course. Luxembourg students normally continued their studies in the neighbouring countries of France, Germany or Belgium. A large number of Luxembourg students continue pursuing part or all their university studies abroad even nowadays.

The national and international educational profile of Luxembourg changed entirely in 2003, when a new university was founded: the University of Luxembourg, the first and only university of the Grand-Duchy.


Main building - Limpertsberg Campus

Teaching, research and knowledge transfer at the highest international level: those are the three ambitious goals that this university sets from the start. As one of the youngest universities in Europe, it is built directly on the Bologna system. This institution offers a range of high-quality Bachelor's , however the focus of its teaching is always on Master's and PhDs .

Special attention is given to research which focuses on particularly promising areas. The academic staff members come from all around the world and work in interdisciplinary teams. The university wants to serve the society and economy of Luxembourg as a place of reflection, and to develop into a motor of economic diversification.

Luxembourg is the headquarters of many European institutions, such as the European Court of Justice and the European Investment Bank, and is renowned for its international financial centre. Naturally, the University of Luxembourg also makes use of the close connections to the EU institutions headquarters in the capital, to the Luxembourg financial centre and to the Luxembourg job market: about five hundred financial experts, legal experts and other practitioners support our professors in their teaching. The alumni and the research projects the university completes in turn benefit EU institutions, the financial centre and Luxembourg itself as an economic location with an attractive job market – a fruitful cooperation.

This university is one of the few in the world to be multilingual. So it makes sense to promote mobility as well. All undergraduates have to spend at least one semester abroad. This mobility is done in cooperation with partners in Europe, Asia and North America.

The Luxembourg university does not look mass events. Everyone knows everyone else on campus. It is easy to get an overview of teaching and research activities, the lecturers are easy to reach. Many courses take place in the form of seminars, and the first undergraduate semester is guided in tutorials.

The University of Luxembourg currently conducts its activities on three sites: Limpertsberg, Kirchberg and Walferdange. In the future, it will base the Faculty of Sciences, Technology and Communication and the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education at its new site in the Esch/Belval science complex. The final location of the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance will be decided at a later date.

For complete information on the University of Luxembourg, please consult its website:

(source of text : University of Luxembourg)