Advanced search

Abu Dhabi > General Information on Luxembourg > About Luxembourg >

About Luxembourg

Official designation   Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Political regime   Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
Prime minister   H.E.M. Xavier BETTEL (since December 2013)
National language   Luxembourgish (lëtzebuergesch)
Administrative languages   French, German, Luxembourgish
Capital   Luxembourg City (100.390 inhabitants)
Administrative divisions   3 districts (Luxembourg, Diekirch, Grevenmacher), 12 cantons, 106 municipalities
Surface   2586 Km2 (999 sqm)
Population   530.000 inhabitants


National Anthem   Ons Hémécht

Official links to comprehensive information on Luxembourg:


Luxembourg in Figures

Click [ here] to download the 2014 publication

or visit the Statistics Portal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg for additional publications